SPRING CELEBRATION

APRIL 25, 2019 11:30AM



UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT
OF
MATHEMATICS

Mathematics is about progress and adventure and emotion.
-Cédric Villani

University Math Society

Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

President: Andrew Sack Vice-President: Kyle Gettig Treasurer: Levi Iszler

Secretary: David Freeman

Director of Intellectual Affairs: Giavanna Paterno

Director of Social Affairs: Divya Kompella Advertising Director: Brianna Henry

Integration Bee

Presented By: Sergei Shabanov

1st place: Matthew Ryan 2nd place: Foster Sabatino 3rd place: Christopher Clavier

4th place: Jay Mithani

Grand Integrator: Matthew Ryan

Integration Bee Organizers:

Kyle Gettig, Andrew Sack, and Brianna Henry

SIAM Gators

Faculty Advisor: William Hager

President: Christie Mauretour Vice-President: Mahya Aghaee Secretary: Blake Wilson

Treasurer: James Diffenderfer Webmaster: Bruce Horton

Outstanding efforts and accomplishments on behalf

of the SIAM Gators: Christie Mauretour

Spring 2019

Masters of Science

Davoud Ataee Wanyu Bian Alberto Blesa Churni Gupta Andrew Kriehn Lauren Wickman Dalton Worsnup

PhD

Meric Augat Chenxi Chen Keith Copenhaver Ankush Goswami Alex Gruber Lacey Johnson Venkata Raghu Pantangi Doug Pfeffer Darby Smith Anthony Van Duzer

Graduate Degrees Awarded

Summer 2018

Masters of Science

Katie Bianco Yawei Chu Zhijie Feng Philip Klein-Rodick Nikola Milicevic Dhruv Patel

PhD

Yena Kim

Fall 2018

Masters of Science

Lance Ferrer Jamie Scott

PhD

Leo Betthauser

Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Bindi, Nikolas C; Campbell, Jess E; Colovic, Ana; Friedberg, Mia J; Gettig, Kyle A; Grafton, Daisia M; King, Marshall T; Kingsley, Sarah J Lin, Peter W; Mak, Xavier H; Makarov, Andrew I; Sack, Andrew I; Schactman, Jordan H; Spencer, Ross M; Swanson, Samuel J; Doyal, Hannah; Deyo, Sean J; Athens, Alexis C; Kempfert, Katherine C; Putnal, Ashton P; Rich, Gabrielle E

Putnam Competition Team

Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

Michael Cory, Kyle Gettig, Andrew Sack

Graduate Mathematics Association

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Kevin Knudson

President: Churni Gupta Vice President: Jamie Scott Secretary: Lauren Wickman Treasurer: Jesse Adamski Webmaster: Nikola Milicevic

Graduate Student Council: Lauren Wickman

Center for Applied Mathematics Summer Fellowship Award Alexander Wagner Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Sergei Pilyugin

University Scholars Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Kenneth DeMason (working with Luca Di Cerbo)

Nicholas Selgas (working with Dana Bartosova)

Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Selection Committee: Kevin Knudson, Darryl Chamberlain, Konstantina Christodoulopoulou, Kwailee Chui, Amy Grady, Jason Harrington, Shu-Jen Huang, Scott Keeran, Ian Manly, Ross Ptacek, Missy Shabazz, Corey Stone, Sherry Tornwall, Larissa Williamson, Alex York

Certificates of Excellence

John Hester, Andrew Latham, Robert Monahan

UF Mathematics Graduate Student Teaching Awards

John Streese, Nicole Tuovila and Lauren Wickman

University Graduate Student Teaching Award: Lauren Wickman

Graduate Committee Student Member

Parker Edwards Churni Gupta

University Women's Club Scholarship:

Lauren Wickman

Neil White Excellence in Teaching Award

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Doug Pfeffer and Darby Smith

Robert Long Award

Presented By: Jonathan King

Alexander Barnard

Honorable Mention: Chase Fagen

Chat Yin Ho Scholarship Presented by: Peter Sin

Julien Sorci

Joseph A. Alfred Mathematics Graduate Award Presented by: Peter Sin

Richard Krogman

Kermit Sigmon Scholarship Presented by: Sergei Pilyugin

Kyle Gettig

Eleanor Ewing Ehrlich Award Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Nicole Tuovila

Fantasy League and Bracket Challenge Winners Presented By: Darby Smith

Faculty and Staff Recognition

Chair: Kevin Knudson

Sandy Gagnon ~ 30 years of service Li-Chien Shen ~ retirement 34 years of service Doug Pfeffer ~ Special Department Recognition Award Darby Smith ~ Special Department Recognition Award Graduating Seniors Awards ~ Kevin Knudson Winifred B. Cooke ~ Retirement/ Thanks Award