# SPRING CELEBRATION

APRIL 26, 2018 11:30AM



# UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT
OF
MATHEMATICS

Mathematics is about progress and adventure and emotion.
-Cédric Villani

University Math Society

Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

President: Andrew Sack Vice-President: Kyle Gettig Treasurer: Madeline Bickerstaff Secretary: Jaysha Camacho

Director of Intellectual Affairs: Jaysha Camacho

Integration Bee

Presented By: Sergei Shabanov

1st place: Jay Mithani 2nd place: David Summa 3rd place: Foster Sabatino 4th place: Eli Cadenhead Grand Integrator: Jay Mithani

Integration Bee Organizers

Kyle Gettig and Gustavo Segovia

# **SIAM Gators**

Faculty Advisor: William Hager

President: James Diffenderfer Vice-President: Christie Mauretour

Secretary: Mahya Aghaee Treasurer: Ashley Watts

Webmaster: Julia Franck and Kayton Fletcher

Outstanding efforts and accomplishments on behalf

of the SIAM Gators: James Diffenderfer

# Spring 2018

## **Masters of Science**

Summer Atkins Robert Ferguson Ankush Gowsami Bruce Horton Cristina Korb Jasmine Hocutt Joshua Smith Julien Sorci Nicole Tuovila

## PhD

Jeramiah Hocutt Xianqi Li Chase Saucier Celeste Vallejo Udeni Wijesooriya

# Graduate Degrees Awarded

# Summer 2017

#### **Masters of Science**

Endrit Fejzullahu David Yerger Ruyue Yuan

# PhD

Ashwini Amarsinghe Agnish Dey Joshua Hiller Ali Uncu Wei Zhang

# Fall 2017

#### **Masters of Science**

Rudrasis Chakraborty John Hester

# PhD

# Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Bryan J. Atkinson, Eion M. Blanchard, David George Burrell, Pranav Chinmay, Kenneth J. Demason, Allison Kaela Duncan, Michelle B. Feigenbaum, Carly Eyre Galitz, Daisia Marie Grafton

Melissa Joanna Kamm, Joseph Samuel Loe, Cathleen T. Mestre.

Raihan Noman, Luke Daniel Richard, Samuel A. Rizzo, Romae Carla Smith, Melinda Yasmin Szabo, Benjamin Allen Velie, Leonardo Murri, Matthew Quint

# Pi Mu Epsilon

Faculty Advisor: Kevin Knudson

Raihan Noman, Meghan Audo, Anthony Beltran, Melissa Kamm, Jana Votavova, Michelle Feigenbaum, David Burrell, Jenaan Maali, Eion Blanchard, Mario Midence Ordonez, Sisam Fares, Austin Jacobs, Samuel Rizzo, Hui Gut, Leo Murrt, Ian Pelakh, Bryan Atkinson, Jaylynne Hocutt

# **Putnam Competition Team**

Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

Kyle Gettig, Jonathan Fang, Michael Cory

**Graduate Mathematics Association** 

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Douglas Cenzer

President: Parker Edwards Vice President: John Hester Secretary: Churni Gupta Treasurer: Jesse Adamski Webmaster: Nicole Tuovila

Graduate Student Council: Lauren Wickman

Center for Applied Mathematics Summer Fellowship Award

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Sergei Pilyugin

Chenxi Chen

University Scholars Presented by: Douglas Cenzer

Michael Cory (Miklos Bona, advisor)

Andrew Sack (Kevin Knudson, advisor)

**Graduate Student Teaching Awards** 

Selection Committee: Doug Cenzer, Darry Chamberlain, Jason Harrington, Shu-Jen Huang, Konstantina Christodoulopoulou, Kwailee Chui, Scott Keeran, Kevin Knudson, Ross Ptacek, Jane Smith, Sherry Tornwall, Larissa Williamson,

#### Certificates of Excellence

Andrew Latham, Nicole Tuovila, Jason Johnson, Shane Welker

<u>UF Mathematics Graduate Student Teaching Awards</u> Meric Augat, Jasmine Hocutt, Cristina Korb, Darby Smith, Doug Pfeffer, Hossein Shahrtash

## Calvin A. VanderWerf Award:

Cristina Korb

#### University Graduate Student Teaching Award:

Keith Copenhaver

#### Graduate Selection Committee

Jason Johnson~ Graduate Selection Committee Member Parker Edwards Graduate Selection Committee Member

Neil White Excellence in Teaching Award

Presented by: Douglas Cenzer

Keith Copenhaver and Lacey Johnson

Robert Long Award

Presented By: Jonathan King

Alexander Barnard

Chat Yin Ho Scholarship Presented by: Peter Sin Michael Engen

Kermit Sigmon Scholarship Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Andrew Sack

Eleanor Ewing Ehrlich Award Presented by: Douglas Cenzer Cristina Korb

Fantasy League and Bracket Challenge Winners Presented By: Darby Smith

Faculty and Staff Recognition

Chair: Douglas Cenzer

Jane Smith ~ retirement 36 years of service Jeramiah Hocutt ~ Special Department Recognition Award

Graduating Seniors Awards ~ Kevin Knudson Douglas Cenzer ~5 years service Chair ~Kevin Knudson