

University Math Society

Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

President: Colin Defant Vice-President: Diego Rojas Treasurer: Diego Rojas Director of Advertising: Brianna Henry Secretary: Eion Blanchard Director of Intellectual Affairs: Sam Swanson Assistant Managers: John Qin and Kyle Gettig

Integration Bee Presented By: Sergei Shabanov

1st place: Alex Garcia 2nd place: Kyle Gettig 3rd place: Colin Defant 4th place: David Summa Grand Integrator: Alex Garcia

Integration Bee Organizers

Michael Law, Colin Defant, Brianna Henry,

Diego Rojas, Sagnik Halder

Math Majors of America Tournament for High School

Colin Defant,Kyle Gettig, Diego Rojas,

John Qin

NSF Grad Fellowship Awards

Colin Defant and Diego Rojas

Spring 2017

Masters of Science

Ashwini Amarsinghe Michael Engen Christie Mauretour Joseph Ruffo Sarah Trainor Jaclyn van Wingerden Charles Walker Jonathan Welker Udeni Wijesooriya Kathreen Yanit

PhD

Francis Adams Rebecca Borchering Christopher Cyr Evan Milliken Todd Molnar

Graduate Degrees Awarded

Summer 2016

Masters of Science

Kiara Hall Justin Irlbeck John Pfeilsticker Ruize Yang

PhD Omar Saucedo Larie Ward Fall 2016

Masters of Science

Marly Cormar Di Geng

PhD Hao Zhang

Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Jess Campbell, Julia Mia Friedberg, Carl Herdegen, Eduardo Iglesias, Marshall King, Patrick Lovald, Victoria Merz, Dhruv Patel, Melissa Pietrangelo, Chelsea Robalino, John Crepeau, Michael Hocomb, Keegan Gunther, Zachary Montague

Pi Mu Epsilon Faculty Advisor: Kevin Knudson

Colin Defant, Chindu Mohanakumar, Dhruv Patel, Diego Rojas, Jamie Scott

Putnam Competition Team Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

Colin Defant Kyle Gettig Jonathan Fang

SIAM Gators Faculty Advisor: William Hager

President: James Diffenderfer Vice-President: Subhorn Khonthapagdee Secretary: Christie Mauretour Treasurer: David Yerger Webmaster: Cristina Korb

Outstanding efforts and accomplishments on behalf of the SIAM Gators: James Diffenderfer

Graduate Mathematics Association Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Douglas Cenzer

President: Jason Johnson Vice President: Keith Copenhaver Secretary: Summer Atkins Treasurer: J. Tyler Smith Webmaster: Jaclyn van Wingerden Graduate Student Council: Endrit Fejzullahu Center for Applied Mathematics Summer Fellowship Award Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Sergei Pilyugin

Meric Augat

University Scholars Presented by: Douglas Cenzer

Samuel Swanson (Dr. Martcheva) Samuel Rizzo (Dr. Bona)

Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Selection Committee: Doug Cenzer, Jason Harrington, Shu-jen Huang,Konstantina Christodoulopoulou, Kwailee Chui, Scott Keeran, Kevin Knudson, Jane Smith, Sherry Tornwall, Larissa Williamson

Certificates of Excellence

Leo Betthauser, Yena Kim, Cristina Korb

UF Mathematics Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Francis Adams. Keith Copenhaver, Jeramiah Hocutt, Robert Monahan, J. Darby Smith, Udeni Wijesooriya

Graduate Selection Committee

Jason Nowell ~ Graduate Selection Committee Member Jason Johnson ~Graduate Selection Committee Member Neil White Excellence in Teaching Award Presented by: Douglas Cenzer

Ashwini Amarasinghe and Jason Nowell

Robert Long Award Presented By: Jonathan King

Ruyue (Julia) Yuan

Honorable Mention: John Hester

Chat Yin Ho Scholarship Presented by: Peter Sin

Keith Copenhaver

Kermit Sigmon Scholarship Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Jamie Scott

Eleanor Ewing Ehrlich Award Presented by: Douglas Cenzer

Lacey Johnson

Fantasy League and Bracket Challenge Winners Presented By: Darby Smith

Faculty and Staff Recognition Chair: Douglas Cenzer

Rick Smith ~ retirement 34 years of service James Brooks ~ 50 years of service to the University James Keesling ~ 50 years of service to the University Yunmei Chen, Maia Martcheva, Scott McCullough and Vincent Vatter ~ Term Professorship Award