Spring Celebration

April 25, 2024 11:30am Smathers 100



# UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT



Mathematics is about progress and adventure and emotion. -Cédric Villani University Math Society Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

President:: Sai Sivakumar Vice President: Michael Poole Treasurer: Glenn Bruda Academic Director: Connor Panish Social Director : Maia Donder Workshops Director: Samuel Kim Webmaster: Chris Rainer Event Coordinator: Brandon Duebel

Integration Bee Presented By: Sergei Shabanov

## Grand Integrator: **Ty Halpen**

Integration Bee Organizers: Sai Sivakumar, Michael Poole, Glenn Bruda, Maia Donder, Connor Panish, Samuel Kim, Brandon Duebel, Kris Rainer, Josh Mott, Robin Maier

#### SIAM Gators

Faculty Advisor: William Hager and Chunmei Wang

President: Rhea Shroff Vice-President: Christian Austin Treasurer: Gillian Carr Webmaster : Michelle Baker

SIAM special recognition: Rhea Shroff

# Spring 2024

**Masters of Science** 

Shi Zhou Sroyon Sengupta Ekansh Jauhari Jacob Levenson Hemaho Taboe David Maynoldi

PhD

Matthew Dallas Hayden Hunter Hannah Anderson Graduate Degrees Awarded

Summer 2023

**Masters of Science** 

# PhD

Palak Arora Jonathan Bradley– Thrush Ying Li Puja Pandey Heshan Aravinda Pathirannehelage

# <u>Fall 2023</u>

**Masters of Science** 

Yue Huang Darren Schmidt

PhD

# Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Megan M. Andrews, Katelyn A. Brunson, Lily Cao, Brandon A. Duebel, Adam R. Havens, Hannah F. Hewitt, Benjamin C. Sherwin, Nathan J. Weaver, Andrew B. Wilson, Andy A. C. Alvarez, Zachary P. Melson, Haidyn C. Sekeres, Junhao Zhang, Jenna G. Fant, Michael B. Poole, Sai Sivakumar, William K. Rhodes IV, Sicheng Zhang, Benjamin J. Cortese, Tyler E. Grinstead, Christopher A. Mason, Matthew B. Schrank, Ella J. Walling

**Putnam Competition Team** Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

Samuel Cohen, Jake Frazer, Samuel Kim, Alejandro Leon

Graduate Mathematics Association Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Kevin Knudson

President: Recep Celebi Vice-President: Avi Mukhopadhyay Treasurer: Fatima Akinola Secretary: Arya Memana GSC Representative: Sroyon Sengupta Professional Development Chair: NA Webmaster: Michelle Baker American Mathematical Society Chapter

Faculty Advisor: Michael Jury

President: Recep Celebi

Vice- President: Matt Dallas

Secretary: Kolby Thrasher

Treasurer: Xiaochen Duan

Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM)

Faculty Advisor : Sara Pollock and Dana Bartosova

President - Robin Maier

Vice President - Abby Crisp

Secretary - Mayrav Saketkhou

Treasurer - Jenna Fant

Webmaster - Kendall Palmer

Center for Applied Mathematics Summer Fellowship Award

Faculty Advisors: Phil Boyland, Peter Bubenik & Sergei Pilyugin

Dario Acaro Teran

University Scholars Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Kevin Jin

CLAS Scholar: Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Roberto Giuffredi

Robert Long Award Presented By: Jonathan King

"A brief history of Topological Complexity and its versions" - Ekansh Jauhari

"Deciphering Neural Networks: The Math Behind Learning and Prediction" by Pietro Landell"

Honorable Mention: "The Coastline Paradox" by Anneka Heras

"Intersection Between Path of Earth and Asteroid" by Anirudh Tammisetti

"Harmony In Numbers: The Intersection Of Mathematics & Music" by Dylan Burke

"Game Theory Optimum's Application in Heads-up Hold'em" by Tinki Chan

Chat Yin Ho Scholarship Presented by: Michael Jury

Avi Mukhopadhyay

Kermit Sigmon Scholarship Presented by: Konstantina Christodoulopoulou

Robin Maier and Michael Poole

Eleanor Ewing Ehrlich Award Presented by: Michael Jury

Michelle Baker

Marvel D Townsend Lecturer Award Selection Committee: Phil Boyland, Shu-Jen Huang, Kwai Lee Chui Presented by: Marvel Townsend Carol Demas

Faculty and Staff Recognition Chair: Kevin Knudson

Phil Boyland- Retirement- 27 years Sandy Gagnon- Retirement- 35 years Margaret Somers- Superior Accomplishment Award Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Selection Committee: Kevin Knudson, Patrick Carmichael, Konstantina Christodoulopoulou, Kwailee Chui, Carol Demas, Jason Harrington, Shu-Jen Huang, Scott Keeran, Missy Shabazz, Joh Streese, Larissa Williamson.

## Certificates of Excellence

Lodewyk Jansen Van Rensburg, Abhiram Hegade, Leo Adaryukov, Abby Owens

### UF Mathematics Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Jacob Levenson, Chi Ding, Rhea Shroff, Michael Coopman, Dixi Wang, Alexander Wong, Justin Young

#### University Graduate Student Teaching Award:

Matt Dallas

Graduate Committee Student Member

Recep Celebi

Joseph A. Alfred Mathematics Graduate Award Presented by: Michael Jury

David Maynoldi Jacob Levenson

<u>Honors Theses</u> Presented by: Konstantina Christodoulopoulou

Grace Bachmann, Advisor Tracy Stepien Ryan Campisi, Advisor: Libin Rong Michael Poole, Advisor: Mike Jury Erik Shute, Advisor: Luca Di Cerbo Saisudharshan (Sai) Sivakumar, Advisor: Jeremy Booher

Neil White Excellence in Teaching Award Presented by: Konstantina Christodoulopoulou

Matthew Dallas

Presented By: Tracy Stepien	
SIMIODE Challenge Using Differential Equa- tions Modeling	COMAP Mathematical/Interdisciplinar test in Modeling
(SCUDEM)	(MCM/ICM)
Participants:	Participants:
Abhiram Bommineni	Oscar Camargo
Aidan Bryant	David Castellanos
Oscar Camargo	Audrey Edwards
Yixuan Cao	Diego Espinosa
David Castellanos	Rong Fang
Gabriele Di Gianluca	Youssef Kamel
Zachary Drouillard	Bibi Iman Kazmi
Audrey Edwards	Adam Kocsis
Alexa Ernce	Shengda Luo
Rong Fang	Jaiden Magnan
John Gracey	Sharan Majumder Sai Chandu Naru
John McDonald	Sanandan Ojha
Natalie Perez	Tuyen Truong
Megan Sin	Ziwen Zhu
Olutimilehin Sobanjo	
Ethan Stace	Graduate Student Mentors
Aryan Tiwari	Tharusha Bandara
Nhat Huy Tran	Gillian Carr
Tuyen Truong	Xiaochen Duan
Jessica Wu	Hemaho Taboe
Zhengmao Zhang	
Ziwen Zhu	Presented by: Dana Bartošová
	UF Math Circle Graduate Volunteers
Graduate Student Mentors:	Justin Young
Gillian Carr	Michael Coopman
Xiaochen Duan	UF Math Circle Undergraduate Volunteer
Seth Foster	Marissa Baney
Hemaho Taboe	Tueyn Truong

Jada Sitchler