SPRING CELEBRATION

APRIL 27, 2023 11:30am Keene Center



UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT
OF
MATHEMATICS

Mathematics is about progress and adventure and emotion.
-Cédric Villani

University Math Society

Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

President: Jude Flynn

Treasurer: Brandon Duebel

Secretary: Michael Poole

Academic Director: Sai Sivakumar

Social Director: Silas Rickards

Advertising Director: Townsend Porcher

Webmaster: Connor Panish

Event Coordinator: Maia Donder and Max Wu

Integration Bee

Presented By: Sergei Shabanov

Grand Integrator: Ty Halpen

Integration Bee Organizers: Jude Flynn, Brandon Duebel, Sai Sivakumar, Michael Poole, Silas Rickards, Townsend

Porcher, Connor Panish, Maia Donder, Max Wu

SIAM Gators

Faculty Advisor: William Hager and Chunmei Wang

President: Matthew Dallas

Vice-President of Communications: Rhea Shroff

Vice President of Outreach: Rhea Shroff

Webmaster: Ovidiu Nechita

Spring 2023

Masters of Science

Fatima Akinola, Michelle Baker

Phoebe Ferguson, Jacob Kowalczyk

Sean Mandrick, Julian Michele

George Roman, David Shi

Dmitrii Smorchkov, Brendan Williams

Alexander Wong, Himanshu Yadav

Justin Young, Wanchen Zhao, Zachariah Thomas

PhD

David George Burrell

Iryna Igorivna Hartsock

Harold Jimenez Polo

Tapesh Yadav

Boya Yang

Mario Midence Ordonez

Yara Skaf

Graduate Degrees Awarded

Summer 2022

Masters of Science

Shravan Sadashiva

Chi Ding

PhD

Wanyu Bian

Mehrdad Alvandipour

Jason Flynn

Jesse Adamski

Lauren Wickman

Fall 2022

Masters of Science

PhD

Shasha Gao

Qingchao Zhang

Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Darden, Sydney Isabella; Ball, Riley James; Castano, Teresa Maria; Causing, Brandon Edgar; Cho, Jiun Shing; Hamilton, Cole Daniel; Hastie, Madeline Elizabeth Gail; Noronha-Weeks, Tanner Jordan; Wall, Martin Joseph; Bayer, Eva Abigail; Crouch, Austin Tyler; Padgett, Lily R; Perez, Christopher Michael; Zhang, Xinyi

Putnam Competition Team

Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

Jake Frazer Samuel Kim Jake Shannin

Graduate Mathematics Association

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Kevin Knudson

President: David Burrell Vice-President: Puja Pandey Treasurer: Phoebe Ferguson Secretary: Recep Celebi

GSC Representative: Fatima Akinola

Professional Development Chair: Palak Arora

Webmaster: Michelle Baker

American Mathematical Society Chapter

Faculty Advisor: Michael Jury

President: Recep Celebi

Vice- President: Matthew Dallas

Secretary: Kolby Thrasher

Treasurer: Xiaochen Duan

Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM)

Faculty Advisor: Sara Pollock and Dana Bartosova

President - Katerina Saettone

Vice President - Vanessa Ortiz

Secretary - Kellyna Voyer

Treasurer - Robin Maier

Webmaster - Kendall Palmer

Center for Applied Mathematics Summer Fellowship Award

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Sergei Pilyugin

University Scholars

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

CLAS Scholar:

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Nickolas Arustamyan

Nicholas Van Nimwegen

Neil White Excellence in Teaching Award
Presented by: Konstantina Christodoulopoulou

Zach Thomas and Austin Jacobs

Robert Long Award

Presented By: Jonathan King

Sydney Edwards, Ekansh Jauhari, Junhao Zhang

Honorable Mention:

Brandon Duebel, Karen liu, Isabelle Stratton and Logan Wax

Chat Yin Ho Scholarship Presented by: Michael Jury

Hayden Hunter

Kermit Sigmon Scholarship

Presented by: Konstantina Christodoulopoulou

Saisudharshan (Sai) Sivakumar

Eleanor Ewing Ehrlich Award Presented by: Michael Jury

Hannah Anderson

Marvel D Townsend Lecturer Award Presented by: Marvel Townsend

Shu-Jen Huang

Faculty and Staff Recognition

Chair: Kevin Knudson

Douglas Cenzer- Retirement- 51 years of service

Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Selection Committee: Kevin Knudson, Stephen Adams, Patrick Carmichael, Konstantina Christodoulopoulou, Kwailee Chui, Carol Demas, Jason Harrington, Shu-Jen Huang, Scott Keeran, Ian Manly, Ross Ptacek, Missy Shabazz, Corey Stone, Larissa Williamson, Alex York,

Certificates of Excellence

Gillian Carr, David Shi, Jacob Kowalczyk, Alex Wong

UF Mathematics Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Cayley Robinson, Justin Young, Nirjal Shrestha, Fatima Akinola, Phoebe Ferguson George Roman

University Graduate Student Teaching Award:

Caleb Davis and David Maynoldi

Graduate Committee Student Member

David Burrell

Joseph A. Alfred Mathematics Graduate Award Presented by: Michael Jury

George Roman and Jacob Kowalczyk

Presented By: Tracy Stepien

SIMIODE Challenge Using Differential Equations Modeling

(SCUDEM)

Haben Belai, Xavier Gottlieb-Young

Sharan Majumder, Townsend Porcher

Christopher Prieto, Ben Sherwin

Graduate Student Mentors:

David Burrell

Gillian Carr

Phoebe Ferguson

COMAP Mathematical/Interdisciplinary Contest in Modeling

(MCM/ICM)

Russell Abedeen, Kit Aragona, Katherine Bi-Ji, Trey Black

Jacob Boesger, Jianda Du, Nicholas Kapsos, Adam Kocsis

Sharan Majumder, John McDonald, Joshua Mott, Lily Padgett

Theodore Stronkowsky, Geena-Maria van Dijk

Graduate Student Mentors

Gillian Carr

Hemaho Taboe

Presented by: Dana Bartošová

UF Math Circle Graduate Volunteers

Palak Arora

Michelle Baker

Harold Jimenez Polo

Phoebe Ferguson

Puja Pandey

Justin Young