Spring Celebration

April 21, 2022 11:30am Keene Center



UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT



Mathematics is about progress and adventure and emotion. -Cédric Villani University Math Society Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

President: Jude Flynn Vice-President: Elaine Danielson Treasurer: Joseph Rios Secretary: Shane Gladson Academic Director: Sai Sivakumar Social Director : Silas Rickards Advertising Director: Townsend Porcher Webmaster: Michael Poole

Integration Bee Presented By: Sergei Shabanov

Grand Integrator: Ty Halpen Integration Bee Organizers:

Jude Flynn, Elaine Danielson, Joseph Rios, Shane Gladson,

Sai Sivakumar, Townsend Porcher, Michael Poole

SIAM Gators

Faculty Advisor: William Hager and Sara Pollock

President: Nirjal Shrestha Vice-President of Communications: Matthew Dallas Vice President of Outreach: Nirjal Shrestha Webmaster and Treasurer: Ovidiu Nechita

Spring 2022

Masters of Science

Aaron Kolby Thrasher Arya Pourtabatabaie Andres Zuniga Matthew Coopman Christian Austin Joshua Arroyo Jake Kyung Park Hunter Hayden Leizhi Liu

PhD

Yi Gu Yuxin Zhou Mahya Agahee Paul Schwartz Alex Elchesen Joshua Smith Jamie Scott Richard Krogman John Streese

Graduate Degrees Awarded

Summer 2021

Masters of Science

Dario Teran Acaro

Hannah Anderson

PhD

Andrew Kriehn Churni Gupta John Hester Nicholas Sizemore Christie Mauretour Robert Ferguson Michael Engen

<u>Fall 2021</u>

Masters of Science

PhD

Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Darby Laurvick, Colin Rhodes, John Ridgeway, Jordan Schactman, Camille Sicangco, Eileen Sloth, Muhammad Abdulla, Samuel Beazley, Rebecca Cameron, Christian Chase JR, Hugh Dennin, Michael Fero, Luke Grigsby, Greta Higginbotham, Nane Mkrtchyan, Christian Ortega, Pierce Rotman, Eric Shaw, Nicholas Van Nimwegen, Zonshen Yu, Daniel Warshofsky, Raymond Yu, Joshua Zimmerman, Joaquim Jose Sala , Jamie Good, Melanie Halem, Joseph Flahavan, Jonathan Gant, Robert Nowak, Christopher Vairogs, Kyle Adams, Jingying Chen, Simon Kato , Amber Fisher, Katerina Saettone, Saisudharshan Sivakumar, Kyle Thurow, Mingyin Zhu, Hamish Pierpont, Joshua Zimmerman Sam Dillon

Putnam Competition Team

Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

Carson Jones Jake Shannin Zonshen Yu

Graduate Mathematics Association Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Kevin Knudson

President: David Burrell Vice-President: Andres Zuniga Treasurer: Ashley Bonner Secretary: Tharusha Bandara GSC Representative: Recep Celebi Professional Development Chair: Adam Gregory Webmaster: Austin Jacobs American Mathematical Society Chapter Faculty Advisor: Michael Jury President: Wanyu Bian President: Jean Kyung Park Secretary: Treasurer:

The Association for Women (AWM) Chapter Faculty Advisor : Sara Pollock and Dana Bartosova President - Katerina Saettone Vice President - Vanessa Ortiz Secretary - Taylor Stephens Treasurer - Julianna Amitrano Webmaster - Kendall Palmer

Center for Applied Mathematics Summer Fellowship Award

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Sergei Pilyugin

Iryna Hartsock and Boya Yang

University Scholars Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Teegan Bailey

CLAS Scholar: Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Emily Zhang

Neil White Excellence in Teaching Award Presented by: Kevin Knudson

David Burrell

Robert Long Award Presented By: Jonathan King

Nathan Wood

Honorable Mention: Jacob Bumgardner and James Simpson and John Hook

Chat Yin Ho Scholarship Presented by: Michael Jury

Rishabh Sarma

Kermit Sigmon Scholarship Presented by: Konstantina Christodoulopoulou

Jude Flynn and Katerina Saettone

Eleanor Ewing Ehrlich Award Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Dixi Wang

Marvel D Townsend Lecturer Award Presented by: Marvel Townsend

Kwai- Lee Chui

Faculty and Staff Recognition Chair: Kevin Knudson

Yunmei Chen- Retirement- 31 years of service Douglas Cenzer- 50 years of service

Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Selection Committee: Kevin Knudson, Stephen Adams, Patrick Carmichael, Konstantina Christodoulopoulou, Kwailee Chui, Carol Demas, Jason Harrington, Shu-Jen Huang, Scott Keeran, Ian Manly, Ross Ptacek, Missy Shabazz, Corey Stone, Larissa Williamson, Alex York,

Certificates of Excellence

Caleb Davis, Chris Ding, Phoebe Ferguson, George Roman,

UF Mathematics Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Yuxin Zhou, Daniel Kutor, Connor Morrow, Tharusha Bandara, Cameron Fraize, Jason Flynn, Austin Jacobs, Adam Gregory, Zhumagali Shomanov

University Graduate Student Teaching Award:

Recep Celebi

Graduate Committee Student Member

David Burrell

Joseph A. Alfred Mathematics Graduate Award Presented by: Michael Jury

Christian Austin and Michael Coopman

Presented By: Tracy Stepien

SIMIODE Challenge Using Differential Equations Modeling (SCUDEM)

Greeshma Avaradi Alisha Bhatia Adam Kocsis Ben Sherwin Alaguvalliappan Thiagarajan Danial Warshofsky

SIMIODE Graduate Student Mentor: Shasha Gao

COMAP Mathematical/Interdisciplinary Contest in Modeling (MCM/ICM)

Sruthika Baviriseaty Aya Erquizi Michael Fero Daniel Gitlin Ramsey Hamed Ananya Jain Arnav Pangasa Komal Parikh Natalie Patten Jake Shannin Alexandria Teter Johnny Velasquez Nathan Wood

Thomas Yu

Xinyi Zhang