SPRING CELEBRATION

APRIL 22, 2021 1:30pm via zoom



UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT
OF
MATHEMATICS

Mathematics is about progress and adventure and emotion. ##
-Cédric Villani #

University Math Society

Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

President: Julia Franck Vice-President: Tyler Marth Treasurer: Joseph Rios Secretary: Randy Lee

Academic Director: Arnav Pangasa Director of Social Affairs: Jude Flynn Advertising Director: Elaine Danielson

Webmaster: Cooper O'Kuhn

Integration Bee

Presented By: Sergei Shabanov

Grand Integrator: Joshua Mott

Integration Bee Organizers: Julia Franck and Jude Flynn

SIAM Gators

Faculty Advisor: William Hager and Sara Pollock

President: Summer Atkins

Vice-President of Communications: Churni Gupta

Webmaster: Nirjal Shrestha

Outstanding efforts and accomplishments on behalf of the

SIAM Gators: Summer Atkins

Spring 2021

Masters of Science

Tharusha Bandara
Ryan Bell
David Burrell
Recep Celebi
Matthew Dallas
Elijah DeJonge
Austin Jacobs
Nursultan Kuanyshov
Morgan Mavis
Ovidiu Nechita
Kalp Patel
Sam Vancini

Master of Science in Teaching (MST)

Jaylynne Hocutt

PhD

Summer Atkins Shuhang Chen Michelle Daher Cristina Korb Andrew Latham Nikola Milicevic Robert Monahan Julien Sorci Nicole Tuovila Thomas Winckler

Graduate Degrees Awarded

Summer 2020

Masters of Science

Matthew Carr Boya Yang

Master of Science in Teaching (MST)

Ashley Watts

PhD

Davoud Ataee Endrit Fejzullahu J. Shane Welker

Fall 2020

Masters of Science

PhD

Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Katherine Grace Achinger, Sophia Grace Blumenfeld,
Jean-Luc Choiseul, Matthew Brian Corcoran, Alan Hsin Curtin,
Phoebe Ferguson, Jude Thomas Flynn, Juan Esteban Fortoul,
Shane Lee Gladson, Harmony Anakin Moon Hillman,
Annika Freja Holmstrom, Alannah Catalina Jones,
Miranda Nalini Kagolanu, Ryan Francis Lebens,
Randy Wen Zhe Lee, Xavier Hou Fung Mak, Tyler T. Marth,
Elijah Mullens, Andrew Jackson Penton, Natalia Rosado,
Maxwell Ellis Rosenzweig, Samuel Michael Thomas,
Denisse Ventura, Jesse Daniel Dieterle, Nathan N. Barkdull,
Christopher A. Cravey, Zachary E. Player, Kyle Alexander Theberge,
Catherine R. Euliano, Anna E. Hampton

Putnam Competition Team

Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

Carson Jones Joshua Mott Emily Namm

Graduate Mathematics Association

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Kevin Knudson

President: Paul Schwartz Vice President: John Stresse Secretary: Andres Zuniga Treasurer: Rhea Shroff Webmaster: Sam Vancini

Graduate Student Council: Mario Midence Ordonez

American Mathematical Society Chapter

Faculty Advisor: Peter Sin

President: Wanyu Bian

President: Jean Kyung (Jake) Park

Secretary: Richard Krogman

Treasurer: Recep Celebi

Members at Large: Palak Arora; Nirjal Shrestha

The Association for Women (AWM) Chapter

Faculty Advisor: Sara Pollock and Dana Bartosova

President - Christie Mauretour

Vice President - Julianna Amitrano

Secretary - Elaine Danielson

Treasurer - Katerina Saettone

Center for Applied Mathematics Summer Fellowship Award

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Sergei Pilyugin

Michael Engen and Harold Jimenez-Polo

University Scholars

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Munir Ben Jemaa, Simon Kato, Benjamin Car, Anthony Matos

CLAS Scholar:

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Cooper O'Kuhn

Neil White Excellence in Teaching Award

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Jason Johnson

Robert Long Award

Presented By: Jonathan King

Aimee Clesi

Honorable Mention:

Olivia Stack

Chat Yin Ho Scholarship Presented by: Peter Sin

Boya Yang

Joseph A. Alfred Mathematics Graduate Award

Presented by: Peter Sin

Ovidiu Nechita Tharusha Bandara

Kermit Sigmon Scholarship

Presented by: Konstantina Christodoulopoulou

Julia Franck

Eleanor Ewing Ehrlich Award

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Yi Gu

Fantasy League Winners Presented By: Paul Schwartz

resented by. Taur Schwartz

Faculty and Staff Recognition

Chair: Kevin Knudson

Louis Block- 48 years of service Murali Rao- 40 years of service

Peter Sin- 5 years of service Graduate Coordinator

Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Selection Committee: Kevin Knudson, Steven Adams, Patrick Carmichael, Darryl Chamberlain, Konstantina Christodoulopoulou, Kwailee Chui, Carol Demas, Jason Harrington, Shu-Jen Huang, Scott Keeran, Ian Manly, Ross Ptacek, Missy Shabazz, Corey Stone, Larissa Williamson, Alex York, Caelan Wang,

Certificates of Excellence

Morgan Mavis, Jason Flynn, Tharusha Bandara, Matthew Dallas, Nirjal Shrestha, Mario Midence Ordonez

UF Mathematics Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Summer Atkins, David Burrell, Shasha Gao, Churni Gupta, Andres Zuniga

University Graduate Student Teaching Award:

Palak Arora

Graduate Committee Student Member

Paul Schwartz

Presented By: Tracy Stepien

SIMIODE Challenge Using Differential Equations Modeling (SCUDEM)

Diana Diaz

Shane Gladson

Paularis Gomez

Madeline Hastie

JillyAnne Kent

Emily Namm

Grant Renner

Claudia Tariche Fortes

Alexandria Teter

COMAP Mathematical/Interdisciplinary Contest in Modeling (MCM/ICM)

Allison Cerlanek

Sydney Edwards

Jude Flynn

Julia Franck

Sarah Foster

Shane Gladson

Calvin Korponai

Sydney Nelson

John Ridgeway

Hani Samamah

Alexandra Zidel

Graduate student mentors for the MCM/ICM:

Cristina Korb

Nick Sizemore