SPRING CELEBRATION

APRIL 24, 2020 1 PM VIA ZOOM



UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT
OF
MATHEMATICS

Mathematics is about progress and adventure and emotion.
-Cédric Villani

University Math Society

Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

President: Levi Iszler

Vice-President: Kenneth DeMason

Treasurer: Libby Smith Secretary: David Freeman

Director of Intellectual Affairs: Julia Franck Director of Social Affairs: Tyler Marth

Advertising Director: Joseph Rios

Integration Bee

Presented By: Sergei Shabanov

Canceled this year due to COVID19

Grand Integrator:

Integration Bee Organizers:

SIAM Gators

Faculty Advisor: William Hager and Sara Pollock

President: Mahya Aghaee

Vice-President of Commuications: Summer Atkins Vice-President of Outreach: Pourtabatabaie Arya

Treasurer: James Diffenderfer Webmaster: Christie Mauretour

Outstanding efforts and accomplishments on behalf of the

SIAM Gators: Mahya Aghaee

Spring 2020

Masters of Science

Puja Pandey Hardik Desai Lindsey Grigsby Charles Walker

PhD

James Diffenderfer Alexander Wagner Parker Edwards Ruyue (Julia) Yuan Trevor Davila

Graduate Degrees Awarded

Summer 2019

Masters of Science

Grant Backlund

PhD

Jason Nowell Hossein Shahrtash

Fall 2019

Masters of Science

John Streese

PhD

Marly Gotti (Cormar) Miroslaw (Mike) Binder

Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Erica Chammas, Amanda Devinney, David Freeman, Jack Giannetti, Emmett Kendall, Megan Mckeel, Ariel Polani, Jennifer Rafalovich, Harold Schwartz, Piotr Suder, Gabrielle Swain, Matthew Tamashiro, Raymond Spaulding II, John Sykes IV, Nicole Archer, Ann Atwater, Chase Benoist, Emily Case, Jason Pioquinto, Daniel Shahar, Samuel Wallace, Paul Licht

Putnam Competition Team

Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

Carson Jones Jake Shannin Zonshen Yu

Graduate Mathematics Association

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Kevin Knudson

President: Paul Schwartz Vice President: John Stresse Secretary: Andres Zuniga Treasurer: Rhea Shroff Webmaster: Sam Vancini

Graduate Student Council: Mario Midence Ordonez

American Mathematical Society Chapter

Faculty Advisor: Peter Sin

President: Wanyu Bian

President: Jean Park

Secretary: Richard Krogman

Treasurer: Recep Celebi

The Association for Women (AWM) Chapter

Faculty Advisor : Sara Pollock

President - Lauren Wickman

Vice President - Churni Gupta and Mahya Aghaee

Secretary - Jessica Girard

Treasurer - Amanda DeVinney

Research Chairs - Palak Arora and Wanyu Bian (Vivien)

Outreach Chairs - Summer Atkins and Puja Pandey

Event Coordinator - John Streese

Neil White Excellence in Teaching Award Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Robert Monahan and Lauren Wickman

Robert Long Award

Presented By: Jonathan King

Bhaskar Mishra, Atharva Pathak Chase Fagen, Daniel Samraj

Chat Yin Ho Scholarship Presented by: Peter Sin Iryna Kuz

Joseph A. Alfred Mathematics Graduate Award Presented by: Peter Sin

Jonathan Bradley-Thrush

David Burrell

Kermit Sigmon Scholarship Presented by: Konstantina Christodoulopoulou

Levi Iszler

Eleanor Ewing Ehrlich Award Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Shasha Gao

Fantasy League and Bracket Challenge Winners Presented By: Paul Schwartz

Faculty and Staff Recognition

Chair: Kevin Knudson

James Brooks ~ retirement 52 years of service Sherry Tornwall ~ retirement 35 years of service Margaret Somers~ Superior Staff Honoree (CLAS) Jamie Scott ~ Special Department Recognition Award Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Selection Committee: Kevin Knudson, Darryl Chamberlain, Konstantina Christodoulopoulou, Kwailee Chui, Amy Grady, Jason Harrington, Shu-Jen Huang, Scott Keeran, Ian Manly, Ross Ptacek, Missy Shabazz, Corey Stone, Sherry Tornwall, Larissa Williamson, Alex York

<u>Certificates of Excellence</u>

Boya Yang, Arora Palak, Deep Kundu, Trevor Davila, Austin Jacobs

<u>UF Mathematics Graduate Student Teaching Awards</u>

Andrew Kriehn, Julien Sorci, David Burrell.

University Graduate Student Teaching Award:

John Streese and Ashley Watts

Graduate Committee Student Member

Jamie Scott (Fall) Paul Schwartz (Spring)

Center for Applied Mathematics Summer

Fellowship Award Julien Sorci

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Sergei Pilyugin

University Scholars

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Ankit Vishnubhotla

Zonshen Yu

CLAS Scholar:

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Julia Franck