SPRING CELEBRATION

APRIL 23, 2015 11:30AM



UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT
OF
MATHEMATICS

Mathematics is about progress and adventure and emotion.
-Cédric Villani

University Math Society

Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

President: Sophia Makemson Vice-President: Colin Defant Treasurer: Diego Rojas Historian: Natalie Foster Webmaster: Bryan Blette

Director of Community Outreach: Corey Wolfe

Director of Intellectual Affairs: Chindu Mohanakumar

Integration Bee

Presented By: Sergei Shabanov

1st place: Jonathan Claus 2nd place: Michael Law 3rd place: Alex Garcia 4th place: Ali-Musa Juffer

Grand Integrator: Jonathan Claus

Integration Bee Organizers

Colin Defant Michael Engen Sophia Makemson Chindu Mohanakumar Diego Rojas

Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Presented by: Kevin Knudson

Joshua Brownstein Zachary Higgins
Jacob Goodling Brian La Starza
Keven Huang Christopher Pratt
Jamie Liu Tiffany Race
Miranda Andrews Robert Taylor
Parker Edwards

Graduate Degrees Awarded

Summer 2014

Masters

Kathryn Lockwood

PhD

Hayriye Gulbudak Maryam Yashtini

Fall 2014

PhD

Meng Liu

Spring 2015

Masters

Reuben Bernstein-Goff Chenxi Chen Alexander Gruber Subhorn Khonthapagdee Duzhe Wang

PhD

Ibai Basabe Aziza Jefferson Christopher Jennings-Shaffer Frank Patane

Faculty and Staff Recognition

Chair: Douglas Cenzer

Rick Smith service as Associate Chair

William Hager: Fellow of the Society for Industrial &

Applied Mathematics Bernard Mair: Farewell

Jeramiah Hocutt: Grill Master

Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Selection Committee: Lou Block, Doug Cenzer, Kwailee Chui, Scott Keeran, Jean Larson, Rick Smith, Sherry Tornwall

<u>Certificates of Excellence</u>

Christopher Jennings-Shaffer Jeremiah Hocutt

UF Mathematics Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Chris Cyr Jay Pantone Brittany Eichler Ali Uncu Keith Grizzell Liz Wiggins

UF Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Chris Cyr Brittany Eichler Liz Wiggins (UF winner)

Neil White Excellence in Teaching Award

Presented by: Douglas Cenzer Frank Patane and Ali Uncu

Robert Long Award

Presented By: Jonathan King Joseph Park

Chat Yin Ho Scholarship

Presented by: Jean Larson Agnish Dey

Kermit Sigmon Scholarship

Presented by: Rick Smith Sophia Makemson

Eleanor Ewing Ehrlich Award

Presented by: Douglas Cenzer

Rebecca Borchering

Goldwater Scholarship

Presented by: Miklos Bona

Colin Defant

Pi Mu Epsilon

Faculty Advisor: Rick Smith

Nora Barry Parker Edwards Zachary Higgins Joseph Sullivan

Putnam Competition Team

Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

Colin Defant Zachary Higgins Jon Claus

SIAM Gators

Faculty Advisor: William Hager

President: Omar Saucedo Vice-President: Jiajie Zhu Secretary: Alexander Gruber Treasurer: Sarah Trainor

Webmaster: Alexander Gruber & Jiajie Zhu

Outstanding efforts and accomplishments on behalf of

the SIAM Gators: Omar Saucedo

Graduate Mathematics Association

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Douglas Cenzer

President: Jeramiah Hocutt

Vice President: Reuben Bernstein-Goff

Secretary: Udeni Wijesooriya Treasurer: Jason Nowell Webmaster: Celeste Vallejo

Graduate Student Council: Ali Uncu

University Scholars

Presented by: Douglas Cenzer

Colin Defant Nicholas Munarriz

Chindu Mohnakumar Corey Wolfe