SPRING CELEBRATION

APRIL 24, 2014 11:30am



University of Florida

DEPARTMENT
OF
MATHEMATICS

The study of mathematics, like the Nile, begins in minuteness but ends in magnificence.

Charles Caleb Colton

University Math Society

Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

President: Kurtis Lee

Vice-President: Hanisha Patel Secretary: Mitchell Harris Treasurer: Sophia Makemson Webmaster: Andrew Hua Historian: Natalie Foster

Integration Bee

Presented By: Sergei Shabanov

Grand Integrator: Alex Garcia

Integration Bee Helpers

Tom Beasley Sophia Makemson Nicole Borisenko Kirollos Masood Colin Defant Hanisha Patel Kayleigh Dvorak Michelle Sanchez Mitchell Harris Sitharthan Sekar Hammad Huda Diego Zambrana

Eric Kaschalk

Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Presented by: Rick Smith

Alexander Anderson Alexander King Hannah Maxwell Nora Barry Bryan Blette Sophia Meziani Karley Freeland Kimberly Naylor Meghan Pandith Mia Goodnature Sean Paulsen Felix Gotti Valerie Guerra Jasmine Robinson Mitchell Harris William Vebert Samantha Hart James Weck Ralph Kerchner Julie Wood

Graduate Degrees Awarded

Summer 2013

Masters

William Baynard Asim Nadeem Haili Zhang

PhD

Hongyan Hou
James Hungerford
Jessica Langebrake
JoAnn Lee
Jillian Stupiansky
Delphine Mico-Umutesi
Yuyuan Ouyang
Trevor Richards
Jiangli Shi
Jillian Stupiansky
Haili Zhang

Robert Newton

Fall 2013

Masters

Agnish Dey Continued to Ph.D. Jie Liang Continued to Ph.D.

PhD

Wei Feng Ying Guo

Spring 2014

Masters

Meric Augat Continued to Ph.D. Rebecca Borchering Continued to Ph.D. Frederick Byrd Continued to Ph.D.

Victoria Crawford

Hallie Dilley MAT

Jordan Draper

Jason Flynn Continued to Ph.D. Jeramiah Hocutt Continued to Ph.D.

Joshua Hurwitz Junie Joseph

Jaeyoun Kim

Yena Kim Continued to Ph.D. Daniel Rose Continued to Ph.D.

Luping Yang

PhD

Adam Broschinski Lindsey-Kay Lauderdale

Mathew Gluck Jie Li Cheyne Homberger Eric Stetler

Duc Huynh

Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Selection Committee: Kwai-Lee Chui, Jean Larson, Jane

Smith, Rick Smith, Sherry Tornwall

<u>Certificates of Excellence</u>

Victoria Crawford

Yena Kim

Elizabeth Wiggins

<u>UF Mathematics Graduate Student Teaching Awards</u>

Hallie Dilley Frank Patane Mathew Gluck William Severa

Duc Huynh

<u>UF Graduate Student Teaching Awards</u>

Hallie Dilley Mathew Gluck

Robert Long Award

Presented By: Louis Block

Chase Saucier Adam Taylor

Chat Yin Ho Scholarship

Presented by: Virginia Chow Christopher Jennings-Shaffer

Kermit Sigmon Scholarship

Presented by: Rick Smith

Hanisha Patel

Eleanor Ewing Ehrlich Award

Presented by: Douglas Cenzer

Tulsi Srinivasan

Faculty and Staff Recognition

Chair: Douglas Cenzer

25 Years of Service : Sandra Gagnon

2013 Technology Innovator : William Hager

Pi Mu Epsilon

Faculty Advisor: Rick Smith

Alexander Anderson
Corry Bedwell
Glen Frost
James Gibson
Trevor Harris

Alexander King
Kurtis Lee
Frank Luciano
Hanisha Patel
Cayley Robinson

Putnam Competition Team

Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

Alexander Anderson

Jon Claus Michael Law

SIAM Gators

Faculty Advisor: William Hager

President: Maryam Yashtini Vice-President: Omar Saucedo Secretary: Victoria Crawford Treasurer: Alexander Gruber

Webmaster: Maryam Yashtini & Cuong Ngo

Outstanding efforts and accomplishments on behalf of the SI-

AM Gators: Maryam Yashtini

Graduate Mathematics Association

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Douglas Cenzer

President: Francis Adams

Vice President: Rebecca Borchering

Secretary: Jordan Draper Treasurer: Evan Milliken Webmaster: Jeramiah Hocutt

Graduate Student Council Rep: Ali Uncu

University Scholars

Presented by: Douglas Cenzer

Mark Hertz ~(Advisor Miklos Bona)

Daniel Romero ~ (Advisor Scott McKinley)