Graduate Degrees Awarded

Summer 2012

Masters

Maryam Yashtini Continued to Ph.D. Douglas Edsey MST

PhD

Cameron Browne Miriam Castillo-Gil Fuhua Chen Jan Gregus

Fall 2012

Masters

Todd Molnar
Chase Saucier
William Severa
Tulsi Srinivansan
Juan Torres
Ali Uncu
Continued to Ph.D.

PhD

Iulia Posirca

Spring 2013

Masters

Graham Picklesimer MST Shannon Street MAT

Francis Adams Continuing to Ph.D.

Christopher DiScenza

Lei Pan Continuing to Ph.D.
Jay Pantone Continuing to Ph.D.

Alan Kuhnle

Graham Picklesimer

Wei Zhang Continuing to Ph.D. Hao Zhang Continuing to Ph.D.

PhD

Karly Jacobsen Sergii Kutsak Jin-Seop Lee Kristin Luery James Maissen Lee Raney Joel Rosenfeld Ferit Toska Sebastian Wyman

SPRING CELEBRATION

APRIL 25, 2013 11:30AM



University of Florida

DEPARTMENT
OF
MATHEMATICS



Logic is the hygiene the mathematician practices to keep his ideas healthy and strong.

HERMANN WEYL

University Math Society

Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

President: Kurtis Lee

Vice-President: Hanisha Patel Secretary: Alexa Mertens-Goossens

Treasurer: Michael Xia

Pi Mu Epsilon

Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

-Jose Gonzalez -Thomas Dixon -Galina Nogin -Nathan Mattice -John Pfeilsticker -Chelsea Tymms -Sean Paulson -Felix Gotti

-Joan Ponce

Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Presented by: Rick Smith

-Stacey Boyer -Cayley Robinson -James Gibson -Sara Schuster -Abraham Ng -Ari Seff

-Uri Ramirez-Pasos George Tedder

Putnam Competition Team Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

-Alexander Anderson -Sergio Ferrante

-Jon Claus

SIAM Gators

Faculty Advisor: William Hager President: Maryam Yashtini

Vice-President: Omar Saucedo & Hayriye Gulbudak

Secretary: Victoria Crawford

Treasurer: Delphine Mico-Umutesi

Webmaster: Maryam Yashtini & Wei Feng

Outstanding efforts and accomplishments on behalf of

the SIAM Gators: Maryam Yashtini

Graduate Mathematics Association Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Jed Keesling

President: Jay Pantone

Vice President: Francis Adams

Secretary: Liz Wiggins

Treasurer: Becky Borchering Webmaster: Ben Russo

University Scholars

-Jacob Simmons (Keesling)

-Corry Bedwell (Dranishnikov)

-Joseph Park (Shabanov

Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Selection Committee: Jean Larson,

Jane Smith, Rick Smith, Sherry Tornwall

Certificates of Excellence

Larie Ward Cheyne Homberger Sergii Kutsak Karley Jacobsen

UF Mathematics Graduate Student Teaching

Robert Newton Lee Raney

Yuyuan Ouyang Sebastian Wyman

Jie Li

UF Graduate Student Teaching

Lee Raney

CAM Summer Graduate Research Grant

Presented by: Sergei Pilyugin

-Cheyne Homberger

Chat Yin Ho Scholarship

Presented by: Jean Larson -Lindsey-Kay Lauderdale

Kermit Sigmon Scholarship

Presented by: Rick Smith

-Kurtis Lee

Eleanor Ewing Ehrlich Award

Presented by: Jed Keesling

-Jo Ann Lee

Robert Long Award

Presented by: Louis Block

-Meric Augat

Faculty and Staff Recognition

Chair: Jed Keesling

Crow Award Retiree

-Sergei Pilyugin -Thomas Walsh

Simons Award UF Graduate Student Staff Award

-Scott McKinley -Margaret Somers CLAS Teaching Award Staff Recognition

-Kwai-Lee Chui -All Staff