Graduate Degrees Awarded

Summer 2011

Masters

Danjue Shang

Sue-Yen Wong MAT

PhD

Souvik Bhattacharya Athanasios Gentimis Dennis Ledis

Remy Friends Ndangali

Fall 2011

Masters

Cameron Browne
Hayriye Gulbudak
James Hungerford
Eric Stetler
Continued to Ph.D.
Continued to Ph.D.
Continued to Ph.D.
Continued to Ph.D.

PhD

Swati Debroy

Spring 2012

Masters

Vincent LoCascio MAT Hannah Sanchez MAT

Paula Bezark

Benjamin Russo Continuing to Ph.D. Elizabeth Wiggins Continuing to Ph.D.

PhD

Joseph Brennan Olivia Prosper Anqi Shao Pengyi Sun Erica Zuhr





April 26, 2012 11:30am

Spring Celebration



University of Florida

Department of Mathematics



If people do not believe that MATHEMATICS is simple, it is only because they do not realize how complicated LIFE is.

JOHN VON NEUMANN

Pi Mu Epsilon

Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

President: James Fairbanks Vice President: Brian Williams

Treasurer: Glen Frost Secretary: Lori Nevin

University Math Society

Faculty Advisor: Sergei Shabanov

President: Kurtis Lee

Vice-President: Hanisha Patel Secretary: Alexa Mertens-Goossens

Treasurer: Brett Freidkes

Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

Presented by: Rick Smith

- -Erin Case
- -James Fairbanks
- -Jeramiah Hocutt
- -Kurtis Lee
- -Andrew Penman
- -Chi Zhang

Putnam Competition Team

Faculty Advisor: Kevin Keating

- -Alex Anderson
- -Masahiro Nakahara
- -David Weinberg

SIAM Gators

Faculty Advisor: William Hager

President: James Hungerford Vice-President: JoAnn Lee Secretary: Omar Saucedo Treasurer: Mansi Prasad

Outstanding efforts and accomplishments on behalf of the SIAM Gators: Maryam Yashtini

Graduate Mathematics Association

Faculty Advisors: Philip Boyland, Jed Keesling

President: Cheyne Homberger

Vice President: Lindsey-Kay Lauderdale

Secretary: Jillian Stupiansky Treasurer: Karly Jacobsen Webmaster: Jay Pantone

University Scholars

-Celeste Vallejo (Keesling)

Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Selection Committee: Jean Larson, Jane Smith, Rick Smith, Sherry Tornwall

Certificates of Excellence

Cheyne Homberger Sergii Kutsak

UF Mathematics Graduate Student Teaching

Joseph Brennan Jan Gregus Karley Jacobsen JoAnn Lee

James Maissen Jillian Stupiansky

UF Graduate Student Teaching

JoAnn Lee James Maissen

CAM Summer Graduate

Research Grant

Presented by: Sergei Pilyugin

-Mathew Gluck

Chat Yin Ho Scholarship

Presented by: Jean Larson -Cheyne Homberger

Kermit Sigmon Scholarship

Presented by: Rick Smith
-James Fairbanks

Eleanor Ewing Ehrlich Award

Presented by: Jed Keesling -Delphine Mico-Umutesi

Faculty Recognition

Chair: Jed Keesling

Crowe Award

-Scott McCullough

Simons Award

- -Yuli Rudvak
- -Peter Sin

The Princeton Review 300 Best Professors

-Sergei Shabanov

Honors Teacher of the Year 2011-2012

-Alexandre Turull

Retiree

-William Mitchell