Mathematics Department Committees 2017-18

ChairDouglas Cenzer
Associate Chair and Undergraduate Coordinator: Kevin Knudson
Associate Chair and Graduate Coordinator: Peter Sin

  • Steering Committee
    Bona, Bubenik (Speaker), Huang, McCullough, Pilyugin, Shabanov, Williamson
  • Colloquium, Conferences, Visitors, and Travel Committee
    Boyland (Chair), Alladi, Bubenik, Jury, Keesling, Ngonghala, Vince, Zapletal
  • Group Proposals Committee
    Martcheva (Chair), Berkovich, Hager, Rudyak
  • Honors Program
    Knudson(Chair), Groisser, Keating, Ngonghala, Shabanov
  • Hiring Plan Committee
    Berkovich (Chair), Brooks, Bubenik, Dranishnikov,  Hager, Vatter,  Zapletal
  • Little Hall Renovation                                                                             Knudson (Chair), Pilyugin, Smith
  • Faculty Search Committee                                              McCullough (Chair), Bubenik, Chen, Hager, Sin, Zapletal
  • VAP (Postdoc) Search Committee                      Rong (Chair)Pilyugin, Martcheva
  • Chair’s Advisory Committee
    Alladi, Boyland, Dranishnikov, Keesling, McCullough, Tornwall, Turull
  • Tenure and Promotion Committee
    McCullough (Chair), Alladi, Berkovich, Brooks, Dranishnikov, Keesling, Turull, Vince
  • Little by Little Newsletter Committee
    Cenzer (Chair)
  • Computer Committee
    Bona, Boyland, Hager, Keating
  • Teaching Methods Committee
    J. Smith (Chair), Chamberlain, Christodoulopoulou, Chui, Harrington, Huang, Ptacek, Shabanov, Williamson
  • Library Committee
    Cenzer (Chair), Bona, Chen, Rao, Rudyak
  • Online Course Development
    Knudson (Chair), Chamberlain, Chui, Christodoulopoulou, Harrington, Huang, Ptacek, Smith, Tornwall, Williamson
  • Commencement Marshals
    Tim Olson (Chair), Block, Keeran, Robinson


  • Graduate Committee
    Sin (Chair),Jury, Larson, Martcheva, McCullough, Ngonghala, Rudyak,Pilyugin, Turull  (Graduate Student)
  • Graduate Selection Committee
    Bona (Chair), Alladi,Chen, Martcheva, Ngonghala,  Rudyak,  Zapletal, Zhang (Graduate Student)
  • Lecturer Search Committee
    Knudson (Chair), Christodoulopoulou, Harrington,Huang
  • Undergraduate Committee Lower Division
    Knudson (Chair), Chamberlain, Christodoulopoulou, Chui, Harrington, Huang, Keeran, Ptacek, J. Smith, Tornwall, Williamson
  • Undergraduate Committee Upper Division
    Knudson (Chair), Block, Groisser, Keeran, King, Rao, Robinson
  • Undergraduate Advisors
    Chen, Christodoulopoulou, Chui, Groisser, Huang, Knudson, J. Smith, Tornwall, Williamson, Shen
  • Math Club Advisors
    Shabanov (Chair), King
  • Putnam Advisors and Pi Mu Epsilon
    Keating (Chair), King
  • Robert Long Prize Committee
     King (Chair), Block


  • Mentoring
  • Chamberlain: Chui, Smith
  • Christodoulopoulou:   Smith, Tornwall
  • Keeran: J. Smith, Tornwall
  • Williamson: Shen, Tornwall
  • Ngonghala: Keesling, Pilyugin
  • Ptacek: Keesling, Tornwall
  • TA Training Tornwall (Chair), Christodoulopoulou, Chui, Harrington, Huang, Keeran, J. Smith
  • Liaison with the Institute for Fundamental Theory:  Shabanov
  • Center for Applied Mathematics Boyland, Pilyugin (Co-Directors)
  • Center for Applied Optimization Hager (Mathematics), Pardalos (ISE) (Co-directors)
  • SIAM Gators Advisor: Hager
  • GMA Advisors: Boyland, Cenzer


  • Coordinators
  • MAC 1140: Smith
  • MAC 1147: Tornwall
  • MGF 1106: Ptacek
  • MAC 1105: Chamberlain
  • MAC 2233: Harrington
  • MAC 2311: Keeran
  • MAC 2312: Christodoulopoulou
  • MAC 2313: Huang
  • Language Examinations
  • French: Crew, King
  • German: Rudyak
  • Russian: Berkovich, Rudyak


  • First-Year Examination Committees
    • Algebra: Keating (Chair), Crew, Sin,Turull
    • Analysis: Robinson (Chair), Jury, McCullough, Zhang
    • Topology: Bubenik (Chair), Dranishnikov, Block, Keesling
  • PhD Examination Committees
    • Algebra: Sin (Chair), Crew, Keating, Turull
    • Measure and Integration:  Jury (Chair), McCullough, Robinson
    • Combinatorics: Vince (Chair), Bona, Vatter
    • Complex Analysis: McCullough (Chair), Robinson, Shen
    • Ergodic Theory and Dynamical Systems: Boyland (Chair), Block
    • Differential Geometry: Groisser (Chair), Robinsonr
    • Functional Analysis: Robinson (Chair), Jury, McCullough
    • Logic: Zapletal (Chair), Cenzer, Larson
    • Numerical Analysis: Martcheva (Co-Chair),  Boyland (Co-Chair), Hager
    • PDE: Zhang (Chair), Chen, Rong
    • Probability:  Rao
    • Topology: Dranishnikov (Chair), Bubenik, Knudson